On the top of the world!

I feel so alive.

Everything is bright and vibrant and full of light.

Snow gleams on neighbouring mountain tops.

Baby goats jump about, kicking their legs in all directions as they chase each other around, over the red clay and rocks.

Flowers have emerged from the rain.

I have to keep stopping every few steps to take this all in.

I can’t seem to pull my gaze away, it’s enchanting.

My friends disappearance is what makes me move.

I feel like I want to scream and shout. To howl like a wolf at the top of my lungs.

So I do.

I hear two howls in reply and continue walking with a silly grin covering my face, giggling to myself.

It feels so good to be alive!

– Briar

A story of my favourite memory while hiking on the island of Crete over the Christmas holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

